Romincka Forest – Preparations for the establishment of a biosphere reserve in Kaliningrad Region (Russian Federation)

Rominter Heide, © C. Welscher
Rominter Heide, © C. Welscher

The Romincka Forest is a glacial stamped hilly landscape in the border area between Kaliningrad Region of the Russian Federation, Poland and Lithuania. It spans one of the biggest undivided lowland forests in Central Europe. In 2012 the central part of the forest landscape on the Russian side was declared as Regional Nature Park “Wystinets”. It excludes the more densely populated peripheral areas of the hilly landscape. These areas offer great potential for near-natural management, for example sustainable tourism or organic farming. The integration of these sectors can foster the protection of the natural environment of the Nature Park.

Project details

With this project German experts support Russian stakeholders, in particular the Nature Park “Wystinets”, with the nomination of the Russian part of Romincka Forest as UNESCO biosphere reserve. During the project different thematic working groups will discuss sustainable farming and forestry, sustainable tourism development, nature conservation as well as ways of future participation in the biosphere reserve and develop proposals for implementing measures. Based on this, concepts for zonation, management as well as governance of the biosphere reserve will be elaborated. The project outputs will provide a basis for the preparation of the nomination form for the official designation of the biosphere reserve under the UNESCO’s „Man and Biosphere” Programme. The planned biosphere reserve would be the first one in Kaliningrad Region and the most westerly one in the Russian Federation.

The project is jointly implemented by the Michael Succow Foundation, BTE Tourism and Regional Consulting, the Russian Nature Park “Wystinets” and the Ministry of Natural Resources and Ecology of Kaliningrad Region.

The two-year project is funded by the German Federal Environment Ministry’s Advisory Assistance Programme (AAP) for environmental protection in the countries of Central and Eastern Europe, the Caucasus and Central Asia and other countries neighbouring the European Union. It is supervised by the Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN) and the German Environment Agency (UBA).

Lead: Michael Succow Foundation, Partner: BTE Tourism and Regional Consulting

Further information: Michael Succow Foundation

Rominter Heide – Vorbereitungen zur Einrichtung eines UNESCO Biosphärenreservats im Kaliningrader Gebiet (Russland)

Rominter Heide, © C. Welscher
Rominter Heide, © C. Welscher

Die Rominter Heide ist ein eiszeitlich geprägtes Hügelland im Grenzgebiet zwischen dem Kaliningrader Gebiet der Russischen Föderation, Polen und Litauen. Sie umfasst einen der großen unzerschnittenen Tieflandwälder Mitteleuropas. Auf russischer Seite wurde 2012 der zentrale Teil der Waldlandschaft als regionaler Naturpark „Wystinets“ ausgewiesen. Dieser klammert die stärker besiedelten Randbereiche des Hügellands aus. Gerade diese bieten jedoch großes Potential für eine naturnahe Bewirtschaftung, z. B. durch nachhaltigen Tourismus oder Ökolandbau. Eine Integration dieser Bereiche kann den Schutz der Naturausstattung des Naturparks befördern.

Projekt

Mit diesem Projekt unterstützen deutsche Fachleute die russischen Akteure, insbesondere den Naturpark „Wystinets“ bei der Nominierung des russischen Teils der Rominter Heide als UNESCO-Biosphärenreservat. Im Projekt sollen verschiedene thematische Arbeitsgruppen Fragen der nachhaltigen Land- und Forstwirtschaft, der nachhaltigen touristischen Entwicklung, des Naturschutzes sowie Formen der zukünftigen Beteiligung im Biosphärenreservat diskutieren und Vorschläge für Umsetzungsmaßnahmen entwickeln. Hierauf aufbauend erfolgt anschließend die Konzeption einer Zonierung, des Managements sowie der Steuerung des Biosphärenreservates. Die Projektergebnisse werden die Grundlage bilden zur Erstellung der Antragsdokumente zur offiziellen Ernennung des Biosphärenreservats durch das Programm „Der Mensch und die Biosphäre“ der UNESCO. Das geplante Biosphärenreservat wäre das erste im Kaliningrader Gebiet und damit das westlichste der Russischen Föderation.

Das Projekt wird umgesetzt von der Michael Succow Stiftung gemeinsam mit BTE Tourismus- und Regionalberatung, dem russischen Naturpark „Wystinets“ sowie dem Ministerium für Naturressourcen und Ökologie der Kaliningrader Gebietsregierung.

Das zweijährige Projekt wird vom Bundesumweltministerium mit Mitteln des Beratungshilfeprogramms (BHP) für den Umweltschutz in den Staaten Mittel- und Osteuropas, des Kaukasus und Zentralasiens sowie weiteren an die Europäische Union angrenzenden Staaten gefördert und vom Bundesamt für Naturschutz und dem Umweltbundesamt begleitet.

Projektträger: Michael Succow Stiftung, Partner BTE Tourismus- und Regionalberatung

Weitere Infos unter: Michael Succow Stiftung