Long-term ecosystem monitoring at the biosphere reserves in Brandenburg

ÖUB Brandenburg: Naturnahes Moor, BR Schorfheide-Chorin, © R. Probst
ÖUB Brandenburg: Naturnahes Moor, BR Schorfheide-Chorin, © R. Probst

The MAB committee of UNESCO describes the implementation of ecological monitoring as one task of Biosphere Reserves (BR), adding to their protection and sustainable development functions. Monitoring is part of the integrated research and observation tasks of these protections areas (BfN 2008).

The aim of ecological monitoring at the biosphere reserves in Brandenburg is to record, trace and assess the development of typical ecosystems in a long-term and all-embracing observation. It is conducted on selected sites (topical scale). The selection was made using following criteria:

  • predominant ecosystem in combination with forms of land-use,
  • natural or near natural ecosystems with significant area at the biosphere reserve,
  • rare natural or near natural ecosystems with high importance in nature conservation.

In Brandenburg, long-term ecosystem monitoring was planned in 1998 for the biosphere reserves „Schorfheide-Chorin“ and „Spreewald“ and is continuously conducted since 1999. The planning and observation at the biosphere reserve „Flusslandschaft Elbe“ followed in 2003. Since the beginning, coordination and organisation is done at the Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development (former University of Applied Science Eberswalde), Faculty of Landscape Management and Nature Conservation, Department Vegetation science and applied plant ecology (Prof. Dr.Vera Luthardt) by order of the Brandenburg federal environmental agency.

A total of 136 monitoring sites (including forest, lakes, streams and ditches, near-natural fens, grassland on mineral soils and peat soils, arable land and kettle holes) at all three biosphere reserves are under observation. The all-embracing monitoring includes all ecosystem-compartments such as soil, water, vegetation and fauna. The parameters for observation were selected based on their high indicator levels. The measurements and surveys were conducted with reproducible and standardized methods and with a precise localisation at the site. All information were collected in a database and are available for further analyses.

In 2015, the observation programme was considerably evaluated and adapted to future requirements.

Information about aims of the long-term observation, abstracts about all monitoring sites and previous analyses of the observation data are available on the website and in a small booklet (German only).

Lead: University for Sustainable Development Eberswalde (HNEE)

Cooperation:

Landesamt für Umwelt Brandenburg (LfU)

Schorfheide-Chorin Biosphere Reserve

Spreewald Biosphere Reserve

Elbe-Brandenburg River Landscape Biosphere Reserve

Funded by: Landesamt für Umwelt Brandenburg (LfU)

Further information: ÖUB Brandenburg

Ökosystemare Umweltbeobachtung (ÖUB) in den Biosphärenreservaten Brandenburgs

ÖUB Brandenburg: Naturnahes Moor, BR Schorfheide-Chorin, © R. Probst
ÖUB Brandenburg: Naturnahes Moor, BR Schorfheide-Chorin, © R. Probst

Das MAB-Komitee der UNESCO definiert für Biosphärenreservate (BR) neben ihrer Schutz- und Entwicklungsfunktion auch den Auftrag der ökologischen Umweltbeobachtung. Diese ist ein Teil der Palette der integrativen Forschung- und Monitoringaufträge dieser Schutzgebiete (BfN 2008).

Die ÖUB hat die Aufgabe in den Biosphärenreservaten Brandenburgs die regionaltypischen Ökosysteme in gesamtheitlicher/ökosystemarer Betrachtung langfristig zu beobachten sowie die Entwicklung zu dokumentieren und zu bewerten. Die Beobachtung findet dabei auf ausgewählten Einzelflächen (topische Ebene) statt. Die Auswahl erfolgte nach folgenden Kriterien:

  • Dominant vorherrschende Ökosystem-Nutzungstypen,
  • naturnahe und halbnatürliche Ökosysteme mit einem noch wesentlichen Flächenanteil,
  • seltene naturnahe bzw. halbnatürliche Ökosysteme mit hoher naturschutzfachlicher Bedeutung.

In Brandenburg wurde die ÖUB für die Biosphärenreservate Schorfheide-Chorin und Spreewald in den Jahren 1998 konzipiert und seit 1999 kontinuierlich durchgeführt. Das Biosphärenreservat Flusslandschaft Elbe folgte ab dem Jahr 2003. Die Organisation und Koordination im Auftrag des Landesumweltamtes liegt von Beginn an  bei der Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung (ehemals FH-Eberswalde), FB Landschaftsnutzung und Naturschutz, FG Vegetationskunde und Angewandte Pflanzenökologie, Prof. Dr. Vera Luthardt.

Insgesamt stehen 136 Flächen (Wald/Forst, Seen, Fließgewässer, Moore, Grünland, Acker, Sölle)  in den drei Biosphärenreservaten Brandenburgs unter Beobachtung. Die ökosystemare Betrachtung umfasst die Beobachtung sowohl der abiotischen Kompartimente – Boden und Wasser – als auch der biotischen Kompartimente – Vegetation und Fauna. Die Parameter wurden nach ihrem indikatorischen Wert ausgewählt. Die Datenerfassungen erfolgen mit gut reproduzierbaren und standardisierten Erhebungsmethoden und genauer Verortung im Gelände. Alle Daten werden in einer Datenbank vorgehalten und stehen für umfängliche Auswertungen zur Verfügung.

In 2015 wurde das Programm  umfänglich evaluiert und an die aktuellen Erfordernisse angepasst.

Umfängliche Informationen zu den Beobachtungszielen, Steckbriefe zu allen Dauerbeobachtungsflächen und zu bisherigen Ergebnissen der ÖUB sind auf der Webseite und in Broschürenform zu finden.

Projektträger: Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung Eberswalde (HNEE)

Partner:

Landesamt für Umwelt Brandenburg (LfU)

Biosphärenreservat Schorfheide-Chorin

Biosphärenreservat Spreewald

Biosphärenreservat Flusslandschaft Elbe-Brandenburg

Finanziert durch: Landesamt für Umwelt Brandenburg (LfU)

Website: ÖUB Brandenburg